then and now

A day for reflection, a 'where were you when' day... that cast a shadow over us all.

I remember so well. A "normal" school day - lessons, meetings .... then like wildfire, the news filled the corridors. Colleagues with children who worked in New York, even twin towers, (who, we later learned weren't there that day ) --- waiting was the worst. Television screens placed in prominent places around the school building and the hush that filled the corridors in this Istanbul school where the majority of teaching staff were American. Twenty years later and I can't say that I feel we are globally in a better place, but I hope that the victims are. 

It was, otherwise for me, an enjoyable day, including some tutoring, some swimming, and an evening spent on my front balcony surrounded by garden cats and woofers, sitting with Kat talking about, well, I'm not sure I remember exactly what.  Beer drinking may have been involved. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.