Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Rubber Duckie

I discovered this new street art (on the city's electrical boxes) when I went out to do my marketing yesterday. Due to the 9/11 anniversary, I didn't want to use this photo, so I'm using it today instead. I feel sure this is acceptable.

This painting, over two boxes, really appealed to me! I had visions of our beautiful lake full of rubber duckies bobbing around... what would the elegant swans think?

When I lived in the USA, many years ago, I had my first baby ... and then I discovered American TV and Sesame Street, a children's programme with Muppets! There was a character called Ernie who sang a "Rubber Duckie" song which has stayed in my memory!

Extra:
Every Saturday, when I go downtown for my early morning marketing, I stop off in the same place for a coffee and sometimes breakfast. One of the regulars there, at the same time as me each week, is a charming lady with snow white hair who always wears a flower in her hair to match her outfit. I went up to her recently and told her how elegant she always looks (because she does). Here she is before taking her mask off to join three other friends for coffee!  One of these days, I'll ask her permission to take her portrait without her mask.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.