Shore fishing

When I was young and as a family we went to Waihi Beach where a friend of my father had a bach looking out on the Pacific Ocean beyond the sand dunes, "surf casting was common. Fishermen would go over the dunes onto the exposed sand. There with long rods, they would cast the line far out into the ebbing tide, and wait for the hook and bait to be taken further out, and hopefully catch a fish. If a fish did take the hook, the line would scream out further, and the angler's task was to play the fish and bring it in.

There is no real surf at Algies Bay; therefore I have used a made up term - Shore fishing. There were three or four people by two large 4 wheel drive SUVs drawn up close to the water's edge, and another rod lying on the sand, and nobody watching this rod.

The rod appears to link Algies Bay with kawau Bay, Kawau Island, and in the far distance the largest island in the Hauraki Gulf, Aotea. Better known to most people as Great Barrier Island. Unlike Hauturu (Little Barrier Island), which is a wild-life sanctuary with no human residents, Aotea has a resident population who live off the grid. 

Good to see that the number of new Covid cases has dropped again to 20. Such ups and downs are likely to continue as we progressively block the lines of transmission. Although I say and think "we", I was appalled by the casual attitude when I went for my afternoon run. I saw no one with a mask and was told by one person she didn't need it in the fresh air. I ensured I was never closer than 10 m to anyone else except in one place wher the path did no permit that. My mask was on at that point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.