Caught!

One of the downsides of working from home is that although I'm staying home for the weekend, there's almost a nagging feeling that I should be joining in a Zoom meeting. I have managed to deal with that.

Mid afternoon, the water was running rapidly out into the bay as low tide approached. I was able to run on the firm sand far out into the bay, and then around the point to the broad expanse of flat rock where fishers (both avian and human) try to catch some fish.

Two juvenile Karoro (also known as Kelp gulls) were sitting on the water next to the rock platform, and I approached slowly thinking I could get some close ups. Suddenly one ducked its head under the water as if balancing on its head. Then I got this photo. 

The extra is of the first flowers on THE wisteria for this spring. 

The Ministry of Health announced today that the total of new cases in the last 24 hours was 23. As there were only 11 the previous 24 hours, it is easy to feel very anxious. However, as has been usual, a majority of the new cases have a direct connection with already detected cases and/or clusters. Everyone will be more concerned if the number continues to go up. 

Auckland's lockdown (Day 25 today) is until at least midnight on Tuesday. This bounce may see it extended for a longer period. The next step downwards in rigour of the lockdown is level 3, and there is little difference for health care providers, so my situation is not likely to change for some weeks yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.