Nature’s suprise

I did lots of little jobs today and ended up in B&Q of all places (not in the list of my jobs today). MrH needed my help so £133 down but at least there will be 2 new shelves in the kitchen and a shelf in the living room over a doorway (board games will go there and it will make the place feel less cluttered).

I did a lot of cleaning in the most yucky part of the house (porch). It’s yucky because it looks like a rainforest in there with lots of big plants that are now fruiting well. Annoyingly very recently there has been a sudden explosion in aphids. All plants soaped down today, windows and shelves washed and it now looks and smells great. I suspect the porch will need to be rebuilt soon. It was needing a refurbishment when we bought the place over10 years ago!

I cleared a paved area that doesn’t get much use and met a very large frog. A large wooden planter is now in situ filled with re-cycled soil. I just need to put fertiliser in it and then I’m putting sorrel and winter salad seeds in it. I discovered that the type of sorrel I like to make soup from is invasive so I didn’t want is in the ground or in my raised beds (just in case).

When filling the planter we discovered these opalescent gems in a pot of soil? Who knew that slugs/ snails (not sure which) lay their eggs in a string like this? Not slimy at all but I’m not sure I want them to hatch near my veg. I’m going to put them on some soil away from edible plants and see what happens. I suspect they may be gone by tomorrow if the frog finds them anyway.

I’m now about to make chicken fajitas using the air fryer. Exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.