misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Down goes the Meadow

The full year's growth of my lawn, aka "the meadow", got mowed down and left to lie and naturally fertilize the ground for the coming year.
I have loved all stages of the wildflowers flourishing. The wrens on the west side shown in this blip loved their private park where they mated, and flew about undisturbed in the tall grass.
I have enjoyed watching the succession of herbs and grasses over time. The experiment has ended with many tall Queen Anne's Lace plants. Their stems are thick and too rough for a garden mower. The couple who drive around with their big machines did the whole area, twice, in less than an hour.
I suspect the neighbours are relieved and happy to see the "weed field" gone.
The mowers will come back late next month to do it again after the leaves have fallen. A winter leaf mulch can lay on the ground for the benefit of all. I have always wanted to do this meadow experiment. Not sure if I will let it go so far next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.