misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Front "lawn" Autumn 2021

1st day of  autumn! I took some photos of my front lawn that is mostly all planted and self-monitoring unlike the meadow in other parts of my garden. The asters or Michaelmas daisies are filling in the area for the benefit of the bees since the goldenrod are dying out now as a food source. I think I will tuck a few young Japanese anenome plants in there for more late blooming flowers for the bumble bees to eat before they leave. Those are still blooming well in sunnier parts of the garden and are covered with happy bees.
I had trouble getting this blip to focus because gusts of wind came rushing through, if wind can be thought of as a photobomber?

History:
When I moved here to Central New York 13 years ago my neighbourhood looked like a grassy golf course with houses and some trees. Too much grass to mow! Over time I have replaced much of the lawn with perennial plants and trees. They have filled out and spread. This rich view of the "lawn' in front of my house makes me happy. The actual grass that needs to be cut is minimal and can be taken care of by my battery powered mower with an 18 inch wide blade. The goal of a no mow lawn is being reached!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.