JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

On the edge.

Up early to walk to the village store for milk, then on to the chemist to give them my prescription, then a detour on the way home to take a couple of photos and then into Alan's to ask him if he could check out the car.  Turned out Alan is in a bad way.  Three of his mechanics have tested positive and are all isolating.  He and Rowan who does reception tested negative but he will have had to put lots of customers off.  But he said to bring the car round and leave it and he would check it when he could.  I hadn't driven it just in case.  My drive slopes and a neighbour parks their car across the road directly in front of it.  Visions of sliding into their car.  Went home and with a bit of manoeuvring got out at an angle taking no chances.  Walked home  and found I'd left my house key in the car.  The thought of walking back to Alan's was too much so I knocked on Andy's door.  He has my spare key.  Ended up chatting to him and Jenny and the new neighbour for ages. 
Eventually went home,  fed the birds, did my exercises and sat down at last with a heat pad and breakfast.  The phone rang.  The insurance company.  I answered all their questions and listened to all the stuff they are obliged to tell me then was transferred elsewhere where I answered all the same questions and listened to the same stuff.  The people were very nice and friendly but it was an hour before I got off the phone.  Coffee and heat pad cold.  Had a sort of brunch and took some photos in the garden.  Was very pleased to find this little lily beetle.  A change from bees and hoverflies.  The only lilies I have are long past and they don't seem to get damaged by the beetles when they are around.
Finished cleaning the frame of the bay window  then the roofers arrived to look at the guttering.   Not long after a phone call to give me an estimate.   Such prompt action when everyone seems to be busy makes me suspicious, sad to say, so I said I wanted to think and would get back to them this week.  Checked out where I'd found them. It was on a Trusted Traders website and they had good reviews.  Their price was what I thought it would be so I'm going to take a chance that they will be OK.    By then it was time for tea, cake and a heat pad.  Settled on the sofa. Bliss.  The phone rang.   It was Rowan.  They'd checked out my car.  The brakes, the clutch, the wheels etc.   Everything was working as it should.   Wolfed down the cake and went round to collect it thinking I would be back in a minute.   But the petrol warning light was on so I went for petrol, then returned to key to Andy.  Realised I had to load the car with shrub branches as there wouldn't be time tomorrow so got that done and came in to cold tea.  Hadn't given a thought to dinner and felt it might be interrupted too. That seemed to be the pattern.  So it's going to be cheese, oatcakes, tomatoes and lots of fruit.  And maybe the last bit of cake !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.