WilsonsNewDad

By WilsonsNewDad

FOGO AND FONO

Wilson has announced that he is suffering from FOGO.
I mis-heard him, and thought he was suffering from FuguPuffer Fish poisoning.
As he is a strict vegetarian I thought this was extremely unlikely, so I replied, 'I don't think so – Fugu contains lethal amounts of the poison tetrotodoxin, which is more poisonous than cyanide. If you were suffering from Fugu you'd already be dead!'
'No, no', he protested,'Not fugu – FOGO! it means Fear Of Going Out.'
'Yes,' Byron added,'and I've got FONo!'
'What on earth is that?' I asked the distressed boys?
Byron explained, 'FONO is a fear of Normal – after nearly two years in lockdown, we're both scared of going out or, well, doing anything!'
I suppose that's perfectly understandable – I've been feeling quite agoraphobic myself since lockdown eased.
I must think of a way to ease them gently back into their old, confident ways…

Byron has been trying to explain yesterday's artwork to me.
He said that instead of a telephone handset he'd considered balancing a lobster on his head, as a tribute to Salvador Dali's 'Lobster Telephone'.
He decided against this because he thought it might confuse people – and because he didn't have a lobster available…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.