Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2452. Pasta Rustica

Whilst I was staying with my friends “up North” they introduced me to Simply Cook which I had heard of but thought it was just an excuse not to cook stuff from scratch!  How wrong I was….I had three meals prepared using the kits consisting of spices or sauces to add to basic ingredients and all three were delicious so I decided to try the introductory offer and get a pack of them myself.

I chose recipes I knew we would enjoy and that weren’t too high in calories either.  The first one was “Pasta Rustica” and the kit included 4 little pots consisting of a concentrated sauce and 3 pots of additional herbs and spices with rosemary, garlic and chilli pepper.  I added pasta, cherry tomatoes, chorizo, light single cream and frozen peas to the pan and followed the very simple instructions.  The result was amazingly tasty and as we’re not huge eaters, we managed to only serve half of the amount cooked so have a second half ready to freeze for another day.  I am seriously impressed with these little kits and there’s no waste at all as all the packaging is fully recyclable.  The idea is that you order kits when you want them and the default is once a month which at £9.99 delivered, I think it’s good value.  They have a huge choice of recipes and you can choose less frequent deliveries if you want.  Each kit has 4 recipes so it works out far cheaper than buying jars of herbs or spices, or even sauces and if we can make 4 portions but only eat two then it works out at £1.25 for both portions!  I do love to cook and being able to try new and sometimes unusual recipes is quite attractive to me.

Met a friend for coffee and then popped into one of my favourite shops to buy a new winter coat which my hubby has agreed to buy for me as an anniversary present.  I bought him a “Pinter” which is a gizmo for making beer or cider and it should arrive this week.  He then had buy a drinks fridge to use with it as it’s far too big to keep long term in our fridge!  He spent hours this morning trying to find a fridge the right size….

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.