Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

The boy in the bubble

Look who I met today! 
(please scroll down for the video - it doesn't matter if you don't understand the words, the passion in his eyes and the images say everything)
The weather was dreadful and my lovely boss had offered me a lift home. I checked the forecast for tomorrow morning and decided that cycling home and back out again in the morning was still more in line with my lifestyle than getting a lift both ways and abandoning the bike at the office overnight.
And my reward was meeting this guy strolling along Rochester High Street. I cycled past to get ahead and as I passed I called out that I wanted a photo. I got far enough ahead, de-cycled, whipped the camera out of my basket, pointed and shot. Hurrah!
And then he stopped to chat with me. He's from Germany and is walking to Glasgow for COP26.
(do check his schedule and try to catch him in real if you get the chance)
I decided not to tell him he was going in the wrong direction, away from Glasgow and towards Germany, because what he was doing was making himself seen by as many people as possible who might notice whilst upsetting none of them, which is a lot more than I can say for my regular commute.
He explained what he was doing, which I had understood immediately from seeing him walking inside the steel ball, and which was why I had wanted the photo. I told him what I do and how sad I am that my employer no longer recycles anything but burns waste in vast incinerators using non-waste fuel as an accellerant and still it is regarded as “renewable energy”.
At that point his companion explained that they were making little video-interviews which will be mashed-up and added to the site, did I want to play?
Yes! Of course!
So they asked me a couple of questions which I answered to camera whilst the rain dripped off my cycle helmet and perhaps one day, it'll be added to this. Though I suspect that the video mash-up will be assembled after they reach Glasgow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.