Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

My regular daily commute takes me along a cycle path beside the river which goes through an arch beneath the Town Bridge. That arch is just about tall enough at its apex for me to walk under without stooping, but riding my bike and wearing a helmet I tend to duck and whizz through.
Farther upstream and not a place I pass in my normal life is this – the path beneath the railway bridge to Bedford St John's. There is also a footbridge over the tracks called 'Siding Bridge'.
The ramp up on the east side completes two full turns (720 degrees) and the ramp down on the west side completes three full turns (1080 degrees), so I can understand why people stoop to take the shortcut. I can also understand why angst-ridden teenage girls find the footbridge over the railway tracks something of a sanctuary for heated arguments about disappointing boyfriends.
I have taken the bicycle both under and over the railway at this location and to tell the truth, I'm not fond of either. I think I live on the correct side of the tracks.
My long-term absent colleague has arrived at work and bothers to get to know me and to make me feel welcome, which is pleasant. And my chair arrived today too. I shall blip it when I feel a little less self-conscious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.