The green green grass

Obviously there wasn’t any grass left once the very big tent had been removed. I did see the quad in its grass-denuded state last week, but I didn’t get a blip-worthy photograph of its greyness. Anyway, it has now been returfed, although we are not yet allowed on the new turf, which presumably has to settle. When I went to the loo soon after getting to work this morning, when it was still gently drizzling, someone was ‘watering’ the turf. Presumably they were treating the turf with something, because it certainly didn’t need watering in the conventional sense.

I think there are various events planned for the quad as the semester ramps up, so hopefully they will be able to go ahead, even if not necessarily on the grass itself.

A bit more face to face stuff today in the office. I think I am slowly starting to grasp the enormity of turning the oil tanker of the university around (using a tea spoon to try to change its direction) and try and get it functioning in an on-campus way again. I guess I thought it would be a relatively simple job to return to work at work. Nothing could be further from the truth.

Plenty of exercise today, walking in and walking out. Haven’t been on a bus for a while - not since I had a bit of nasty experience towards the end of the Festival with a large bevvy of non-mask-wearing teenage girls all claiming to be ‘exempt’. I guess I will need to overcome my objections. I now have a card that allows me to do so for free, although I can’t use it for a few days yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.