this luminous life.

By Laura

It's Just Me.

Blue October.

While driving to one of my classes this afternoon
(I'm currently enrolled at two different colleges),
the driver of the car in front of me tossed
an empty water bottle out her sunroof.
It ended up bouncing off my windshield.
I don't think I've been as angry about anything lately
as much as I was that moment.
First of all, how dare you throw your trash at my car?!
Secondly, how dare you even throw anything
out your window at all? The roads and the earth
are not your garbage can.
For some reason, I was fuming at this person;
I should have pulled up next to her
and yelled at her for it.

While driving to my second class
(at the other college),
I noticed a plastic bag floating around
on the road in front of me.
I see plastic bags often,
but I hate them --
too many have gone to waste,
and I'm fearful the ones on the roads
will get stuck under my car, melt,
and cause an unnecessary problem.
Normally, plastic bags float under my car.
This one ended up hitting my windshield too,
momentarily blocking my vision
as I drove 50 mph on a two-lane
road with cement dividers.

In recent months, I have been trying to make
conscious choices about bags I use,
food I consume, drinks I gulp down,
electricity usage, paper usage, etc.
As I become more aware,
I'm also increasingly irritated
at the amount of waste that our species
disposes of on a daily basis....
and how much we could reduce that
but we don't all make the effort to pay attention.
I even shake my finger at myself
for not making a larger effort sooner.
I'm also annoyed at the city of Chicago
(at least, in this neighborhood)
for not having recycling bins with our trash!

Ok, this is me as I'm about to head to bed.
I want to say more about waste, etc., but I'm exhausted.
Today was the longest day for me this week.
A few back-blips have been posted.
Good night, moon. :)

__________
a year ago: horse! (I intended to blip a zebra.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.