The last sip of summer?

After yesterday's grey, dismal weather, it's been a real boost to see sunshine again today. I've stopped dead-heading the roses, to allow hips to set; and I like watching the blooms change shape and colour as they decay.  For now, bees and hoverflies are still exploring the few remaining blooms that  survived yesterday's heavy rain.

I see, from a glimpsed headline, that one G Williamson has lost his job as Education secretary. I wish I could wholeheartedly celebrate the departure of this deeply ignorant and careless man, who has overseen 18 months of avoidable stress and chaos for school teachers (and children, and families). Covid was always going to be a huge challenge to deal with. But mixed messages and last-minute guidance... showing no understanding of what it's like to work in an educational setting, and no respect for those who do... all of that could have been avoided. However, I dread to think who Johnson will dredge up to replace him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.