Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Black-crowned Night-heron ~ juvenile

This is a bird I'm not sure I've ever gotten a photo of here on Assateague before. Or seen, come to that. Not a lifer - I've seen them elsewhere - but still. I did photograph a yellow-crowned night-heron several years ago, also a juvenile. The black-crowned and yellow-crowned night-heron juveniles look very similar - but their eyes are different colors (one yellow, one more red) and the black-crowned's bill is stouter.

Anyhoo.

The extras: one of the Assateague eagle pair sitting next to its nest. And a solitary sandpiper (I had no idea what it was until I looked at my photos - I was shooting into the sun and it was pretty far away in the shade of those grasses). And what I believe is a dark morph reddish egret (actually from yesterday). It was a good bird morning on Assateague!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.