Beinghere

By Beinghere

On this morning’s walk

For some reason I really like this bridge and I’ve photographed a lot of dogs here over the years. It’s one of two bridges over the small rivers that run into the sea at the Elie end of Largo Bay, just beside the wood that we walk in most days.
Geordie and I had a good march through the woods today, then over the bridges and down to the beach. As soon as we got onto the sand Geordie wanted off the lead. He repeatedly asked but I refused. Until, that is, I met a family with golden and chocolate labradugs. They all wanted to play and the family asked why I couldn’t let him off. After explaining they laughed and said we’ll help catch him.
I just want him to be happy and have fun, so…….I was weak and let him off.

An hour and a half later I was sitting in the stubble field beside the car park while Geordie sat ten feet away. I only had myself to blame. I felt too embarrassed to phone anyone, but didn’t have a clue what to do. I tried all the usual things that always fail. Playing chase with him, pretending to be dead, laying trails of treats, trying to negotiate and bribe him. If I moved towards him he would jump back, and if I moved back towards the car he followed but still keeping ten feet away from me. If I had slowly driven home I have not a shadow of a doubt that he would run behind the car all the way.
After what seemed a very long time I swallowed my pride and phoned Suzy. She was just picking the girls up from school so she came along afterwards. It’s about five miles. Suzy got out the car first and Geordie wouldn’t go to her, so the girls got out. Hannah and Maggie walked towards him with treats, told him to sit, asked him to shake hands, Hannah took hold of his collar and all three walked back to the car.
My crazy dog. Aaaaarrgh!
I’m glad he will do anything for the girls. He totally adores them, but I can’t have them meeting us at the end of every walk.

He’s always perfectly happy after he’s back on the lead, or in the car.
I suppose the trick is to not be weak and to keep him on the lead. I just need to come to terms with the fact that I have a dog who I can’t allow to have fun off lead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.