AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

Matryoshka

a great night was had last night and the guests brought some glittery flowers, so look out for these, perhaps tomorrow.

John went to check on Isonda after all the snow and wind, and when I was out for a walk and shopping I met an old friend who came back with me for lunch.

after the F1 highlights I have spent ages with the light tent taking shots of daughter #2's matryoshka doll, for a flickr challenge - repitition. I am still not totally happy with this and will try again tomorrow. This doll was brought back from Russia in around 1989 by a friend - you can see the biggest one is faded. It actually has another very tiny one inside the last one here, a total of 11, but it wouldn't stand up and it is so small I was worried about losing it.

the first matryoshka doll was made in 1890 and had 8 dolls. the first one was a lady holding a chicken, the others were girls and boys, and the smallest was a baby. I like the fact that each of the ones in this set is different with different facial expressions and colours.

time for dinner now. hope everyone had a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.