Chateau de Huizingen

It started snowing very heavy last night and this morning we woke up to a lot of snow again! We got up early and watched the F1 which was a great race with lots of action, although there were quite a lot of political issues in the Red Bull team! Then I went to my Zumba class - I very nearly didn't go as it took me ages to de-ice the car and my fingers were numb, but I'm glad I did, it was a great class and I soon warmed up!

Then this afternoon we went to the Castle at Beersel, just south of Brussels. It's a lovely old derelict castle surrounded by a moat, and I thought it would make a great blip in the snow. But when we got there the building was covered in scaffolding, and it wasn't even possible to walk round the moat - plus the fact we got there 20 mins before it re-opened for the afternoon! So we decided to go to the park at Huizingen which is just a few minutes away.

The park covers 45 hectares and has a little zoo, lovely gardens and an outdoor swimming pool - not that we could use it today! We even found a 'bat cave' which really is a cave for bats - there's a small opening in the door where you can look inside, and which is the exit for them to fly out at night, but we didn't see anything as at the moment they're probably in hibernation.

We really had a lovely afternoon which was totally unplanned - but isn't that always the way? The little zoo had a lot of different wildlife, and I got some great photos of the parrots, but today's blip had to be of the Chateau which is in the grounds of the park. It's now a Brasserie, so after our walk in the snow we stopped off for a hot chocolate. I took a few photos (for a change), but chose this one as I really like the reflections in the water.

Tonight we had roast lamb with all the trimmings for dinner and it was delicious, even though I say so myself :-) Now it's time to relax - hope you have a nice evening!

Thanks for all your comments, stars and hearts for Louis yesterday, he hit the spotlight again, so he's a happy boy :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.