Tuesday

When you wake up to the sound of waves gently breaking, it does shout out “holiday!”.

Because dawn is later now, I got that too.

I suppose those were the day’s main events. 

But seriously though, I did go off on a 3.5 hour hike eastwards along the shore. I only saw 3 people in 2 hours once I got away from the village. Ideal. So was the weather - up to 19ºc, lots of sunshine and no wind. Is this really Scotland?

The village is suffering pandemic induced over-tourism, with a little too much of the entitled “I’m on holiday so I’ll do whatever I want” attitude from some. The staff in the cafe look tired and fed up, but are working hard to hide it and praying for some crappy Scottish weather so they get a quiet day. They have staff vacancies. 

I overheard two locals talking about streets being closed, one way systems, bollards and double yellow lines for next year. Home made signs are a common sight.

Do not park here - this is our home”. 
Do not sh*t here - there’s a public toilet in the village.” 
Please, please, please pick up your dog’s sh*t”. 

It is quiet in the morning and evening. 

Today’s back-Blip is one of the nicest parts of the hike, and the Extra is dawn as seen from my studio.

Time spent in the car - zero. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.