Katyyy

By Katyyy

Semana Santa

Semana Santa is one of the most amazing, strange, impressive (and most Harry Potter-like) things I have ever seen! I only saw two of the Cofradias today but I definitely want to see more during the course of the week... each Cofradia has a group of people in the full pointy hat costumes, followed by a huge throne representation of Jesus carried by hundreds of men, a marching band, more costume people, a throne of Mary being carried by more men and a final marching band. The sheer weight of these thrones must be huge and they get carried for hours so it's incredibly impressive!

Although this photo doesn't show off quite how impressive the parade is (or the weight, the costumes etc) it's my favourite 'cos it shows just how windy it was today & I really love how out of character they look... trying to hold onto their big hats!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.