Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2455. A little bit of housekeeping…

First things first though…my PCR test was negative!  So relieved but very impressed with the speed…I had my test at a centre at 1:30 yesterday and by 9:10am this morning I had my result….

So still feeling a bit under the weather, hot, aching joints and generally very sorry for myself…so what do you do when there’s nothing else to do?  Well I have cleared out three kitchen cupboards and thrown away huge bags of flour, pulses etc that are well out of date.

Next job was to start to sort our my backups as hubby read an article recently about people having two backups of photos on external hard drives, saying that actually you need three!  The guy writing the article had bought two new external hard drives and both failed within 24 hours of each other and he never recovered everything he had on them plus it cost him a fortune to get the files recovered.  I have three external hard drives but they’re all different sizes making mirror images almost impossible.  I have my largest 4TB drive for my main backup but have three smaller drives that I spread the files between.  I haven’t done any kind of real housekeeping on these drives for ages so as I’m not going out today I thought I’d do a bit of tidying up and order a second 4TB drive.

The drive in the image was one I bought for my iPad but haven’t really used it with the iPad so I’ve used it as a third backup of some of my most precious family and holiday photos.  Needless to say it’s going to take hours to complete but I do have all day.

I am also about to go online and order my new iPhone today….only 4 minutes to go before I can!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.