jessicadanielle

By jessicadanielle

Day 1 of Biz Coaching

I had my first business call last night. It went really, really well, and I was excited about it all day. I am really feeling positive about this whole thing. Steven and I had a few beers to celebrate, and we ate way too many pringles last night as a result. 

Luckily, we ended up going to bed at a good hour. We were fast asleep by 11:30pm, and we woke up at a decent hour this morning. 

I would usually feel very sluggish the day after a few drinks, but despite not getting much sleep, I felt very chipper. I'll blame that on the excitement of starting something new. 

I've now been at the co-working space for several hours, and I've completed two modules of my course. We have to do an exercise at the end of the lessons, where we explore questions that related to that lesson. This lesson was about limiting beliefs and the psychology behind the idea of "faking it till you make it". The biggest take-a-way from my lesson so far is that I don't need to an expert in something to be an authority. I thought that was very interesting. 

Often, we don't do something or pursue an idea because we feel as though we have to know everything about it before we can give advice. I definitely have felt that way so many times through this process. We feel a sense of guilt about telling someone to do something that we haven't necessarily done ourselves yet. BUT, that's totally the wrong way to feel. 

If we know anything about something, then we can be an authority in that space. As a business owner, your goal should be to continually grow in your knowledge of your offerings, so if your knowledge is constantly expanding... then you'll continue to feel validated in your position as an authority! There will always be someone who is doing better and knows more than you. What's important is how you view yourself and what YOU can offer a client despite knowing that. 

It's only day 1, and I can say that I'm already so glad that I signed up for the course. Here's to hoping that only GREAT things come out of it! Woooooohhhhhoooo. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.