Transitoire

By Transitoire

Un Visiteur

So, today was a tired day in school. However, it was not just because I had had a very late evening out although that probably did not help and not much sleep! Every teacher just wanted the day to be over, and every child decided that this was the day to eat as much sugar and as many E-numbers as possible. Needless to say, lessons were loud and teachers were not happy bunnies! My first class of the day was the sixième, the normal ones...and to keep them entertained I played a number game with them. I have no idea why they all found it so fun and interesting, but I was not complaining! After nipping home for lunch I had the quatrième EURO, and their speaking tests on the film 'The Help'. Now I was in a very generous mood...giving no one a mark under 15 (I guess I should also point out because they had all worked too, not just because I felt generous!). They had to present the film to me, and without fail none of them remembered the word for fired...the only problem being that at the beginning I didn't actually know myself what the French word was! Fail of a language assistant...so, words I learnt today:-
- Viré - fired/dismissed
- Traces - scratches or marks
- Griffer - to scratch

A rather random selection I know, but that is all part of the fun!

After the first half of my work day I headed into the centre-ville to meet up with Thomas and Becky at Tour Solidor, ostensibly to help Thomas create a pub quiz for the ERASMUS society (no pubs in France = no pub quizzes!) but what actually turned into a rather focused dissection of the evening before. Will be interesting to see what the questions are going to be like, especially when Becky and I spent most of the time wracking our brains for what was "normal" to have in a pub quiz! I then had to rush off to have my lesson with two of the troisième INTERs, who were rather tired but still gave it their best shot. It seems a shame that the only time in their timetable they can have a lesson with me is right at the end of a day on a Friday...but there is literally nothing we can do about it. I then rushed to the station to pick up Beth and head back to mine and being very British for a cup of tea and a biscuit before heading out to Café Latin for drinks with Laura, Becky and Meg. The insightful among you will see that this not Beth pictured, but in fact, Becky. Well, she was sitting opposite me and the contrast between the colour of her nails and that of her eyes really interested me. It is strange that the majority of English/German/French people I know have eyes that are some sort of green colour, myself included...before coming here I thought that green eyes were pretty rare!

Anyways, after an hour or so in Café Latin we then headed to La Galleterie for savoury and sweet crepes, and Claire and Thibaud also joined our little group, and yes Thibaud did get some envious looks being the only guy! Was lovely to introduce a fellow Warwickensian and coursemate to some of my closest English speaking friends here, and was nice to have a night off from going out out! Admittedly I had a cervoise with Beth and Meg, but Beth had never tried this Norman delicacy before, and it would be impolite to leave one on to drink on their own, n'est ce pas?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.