Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

First Parkrun for 18 months

SATURDAY

I was up early, showered and at Starbucks by 06:40 for an early caffeine shot and a cinnamon swirl. At 8:00 am I walked a mile to the Henley Wood Parkrun - the first I have done since February last year. I finished in 35th place and was first in my age category.

I was asked if I would take the Parkrun book on the next leg of its world relay - so it looks like I will be doing another run next Saturday.

A second breakfast at the hotel and I’m  now exploring Oswestry - a place that I have never visited before. It’s hosting a food, drink and heritage festival so it’s pretty busy.

Update: This afternoon I drove over to Llangollen. It was warm and sunny 23ºC and the place was heaving. I explored the heritage station and platform cafe  (see extra) but didn't hang around the place.

On the way back to the hotel in Oswestry, I stopped off for more coffee and cake at the Pontcysylite Aqueduct which carries the Llangollen Canal over the River Dee at a height of 38 metres. Again, it's a place I haven't been to before and I wouldn't want to lean too far out of the far side of a canal boat.

Dinner at The Higwayman this evening. 

31,000 steps

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.