Incomati

A morning of work because I’m under the hammer on a funding proposal. Then a kind invitation from two friends, Tassiana and João, to visit their patch of land in Marracuene District, north of Maputo. Together with a few old friends they are creating a small community centred on a compound which they have called Tintsiva, referring to a native tree species found in this region, similar to tamarind. The land is a few minutes walk to the Incomati River, which empties into Maputo Bay.

Tassiana and João invited friends of theirs including Anyieth who is South Sudanese and has a human rights background. It was so interesting talking to her about life there as I have very fond memories of my time spent working on our projects in South Sudan. After a few sentences she and I were already onto the state of Boris Johnson, and I knew immediately we’d get on like a house on fire.

My neighbours in Maputo are partying a lot at the moment. I wanted to do a little more work but they were blasting out Numb/Encore by Jay-Z and Linkin Park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.