Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Lacquer Box

After my success of the other week in finding a beautiful Matryoshka (blip of 21st and 25th August), today I found this lovely little lacquer box in a charity shop. Again this box comes from Russia, it is signed, but I don't think it's a particularly old one. The flowers are painted on a rich green colour and beautifully picked out in gold. Not great pictures I know, but I decided to use them to mark the day anyway.
I drove Katy to the station this morning after her being on call last night......What a nightmare getting to and from the station is just now. The Cowgate is one way, Calton Road has traffic lights. If you come out of Calton Road onto Leith Street you have to turn left then, at the East End junction, you can't turn left or right, only go straight up the Bridges which are in turn reduced to two lanes from four.
I tried going down towards Holyrood, but the road out to Regent Terrace was backed up to the Palace. In the end I went via New Street, Market Street, the Mound and Hanover Street. It took me 15 minutes to get to the station and 40 minutes to get back to Stockbridge, crazy.
I had noticed earlier this week that a little shop near Mellis in Stockbridge was having a sale so I'd been looking forward to dropping in. I bought myself a beautiful and very warm jumper, not from the sale of course! Colin came down to meet me and we had a bit of a wander and a cup of tea then set off to Ali's.
We sat in their garden in the sunshine for a couple of hours which was lovely. They are so ready for their baby to arrive.
Back home I did a little more gardening, some quick sewing repairs for Katy and Eilidh and then, finally, relaxed a little.
This evening we had an aromatic crispy duck for dinner, one of our favourite foods and then caught up with last week's episode of Vigil, now we're ready to watch the next episode live tomorrow.

The numbers seem to be slowly coming down, but I'm still keeping clear of indoor gatherings.
Keep safe everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.