WHAT? WHO? WHERE?

I'm driving along the Pacific Coast Highway (PCH 1) in California some time back. I'm heading north toward the Bixby Bridge past Big Sur heading for Carmel. It turns out there's a marathon run along the coast and traffic is being stopped regularly in deference to the runners. Unfortunately, we're behind the slowest guy out there. I think he was being timed with a calendar. 

So we stop at various places, watch the sea, make some photos and wait to be allowed to proceed. There's various 1st responders stationed along the course in case of trouble. Imagine my surprise when around a tight turn I see a fireman, in full regalia, playing classical music on a Yamaha concert grand. Apparently, the man in the U-Haul hauled the piano all the way up there just to sooth the people stopped in traffic. This should be tried on Freeways during construction season.

The dude was fantastic...made me forget all about being delayed by the marathon. It was a wonderful surprise. The only thing missing was a glass bowl on the piano for tips.

Best in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.