SelfContained

By selfcontained

Reece Cemetery

If someone hadn't shown me I would never have known this cemetery existed as it is so well hidden. Most of the graves are from the early to later 1800's. There are many smaller stones which I assume are children. Not many people lived more that 40 years. I've been here several times and as graveyards go, it's my favorite. As I walk among the tombstones I can't help but think of the impermanence of life and how every one of these people had a real life and a story. I've never ever seen another person anytime I've been here. It's very quiet and there's a river on the other side of the far wall. Parts of the wall are made of stone which look like they were carefully stacked by hand. Other parts are chain link fence. Someone evidently comes in a mows around the graves and there are occasional flowers placed by the headstones.
On a lighter note, when I got home I realized I had left my tripod. It's only 3 miles or so from my house so back I go and yes, there it was in the graveyard. It was almost dark and walking back through the gate  I confess, felt a bit spooky. I had to laugh as what just a bit earlier seemed so quiet and peaceful now seemed like a Halloween movie set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.