Today's Special

By Connections

Contrasts

Our power was out from 11:30 a.m.to 8 p.m. yesterday, thanks to a major wind and rain storm that swept into our corner of the country. 

I spent most of that time sitting at the kitchen table reading Isabel Wilkerson's superb nonfiction work The Warmth of Other Suns and watching the wind and rain. We had supper by candlelight (battery-powered candles, safer than real ones) and afterward I continued reading by candlelight, a new experience for me.

I can't remember when I last had such a big chunk of time in which to enjoy a marvelous book! (The second extra photo in Phil's blip today shows the avid reader, and the main photo and first extra will delight fans of Hamish.)

We welcomed the sun today.

Blip 2192

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.