Africa

I noticed this bit of missing tarmac on our walk this morning, and though you might have to squint a bit, I reckon it does look like a map of Africa. Put it this way - it’s been a grey, drizzly sort of day and the fact this was the only thing worth blipping will give you an idea of how exciting it was!
After all the activity of last week, and a day spent cleaning yesterday, we woke up this morning with very much a “don’t want to do anything” attitude, and almost had to force ourselves to go out for a walk. In the end, we managed to dodge the worst of the showers and even managed a coffee and a cake along the way.
This afternoon has been spent doing more preparation for the arrival of the decorators. All the bookshelves have been emptied and the books boxed up and put in the loft. We have that much stuff up there now that I am starting to worry every time I hear a noise, in case it’s the ceiling about to give way! And I’ve still got to find somewhere to store 700+ CDs and a load of pictures. Had we been earlier in the year, they could have gone in the garage, but it’s starting to get a bit damp in there now. Looks like I’ll have to risk the loft - maybe invest in some Acrow props just in case?
The sun has come out now and there is nothing else I can usefully do around the house, so an evening in front of the telly beckons. And I need a night of rest because it’s a busy week ahead. In no particular order, I need to varnish the door edges, fill a myriad of holes in the walls, see a man about a door, a lady about some curtains and chase up the joiner to fit the shelf he promised us. And for pleasure I will be doing a zip wire, a play rehearsal, a band practice and getting the bike MOT’d, before rounding the week off seeing Genesis in concert on Friday. And by that point, I’ll probably need some loud rock music to keep me awake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.