Vanity Fair

CAMINO PORTUGUES Day 13

Lots of people have said that the Camino is a humbling experience. While I was planning ours, I read quite a few blogs and accounts of other people's experiences and so many of them mentioned that 'H' word. I thought it might strike me in a spiritual sense; I never expected to be humbled by blisters. After all, I have walked at least 3 miles almost every single day in 2021 and sometimes considerably more than that, without a single one. My shoes and socks were well worn in, but of course it's a lot hotter here than at home and I'm walking every single day and carrying more weight. So I shouldn't really be too surprised.

Anyway, after yesterday's long walk I decided to give the feet a rest and take the train from Coimbra to Mealhada. The pilgrimage is not about punishment, after all, and we have walked for 10 days in a row now, with a total mileage of 153 miles (not including evening trips to find restaurants and supetmarkets).

We left our hostel at 11 and had a last wander around Coimbra (more steps than Edinburgh) and spent a while exploring the Botanic Garden.

The train to Mealhada took about 20 minutes but unfortunately our hotel was 4km from the station. Still, it has a small pool and I have been sitting cooling my feet in there :-) Now letting the sun dry them off.

Somehow Strava says we have walked 6 miles today.

Sarah sent me this song https://youtu.be/sNNYtm2XJGc which cheered me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.