homeward bound*

I do like a sleeper train! Something so romantic about travelling through the night, falling asleep in one city and waking up in another. It's not quite the same in a seat, but the Caledonian Sleeper tries hard to make it a special experience, with complimentary eye mask and ear plugs and a "Room Service" menu. I don't normally eat or drink between 11.30pm and 7.30am though, and I didn't last night, either, just closed my eyes and let the train rock me to sleep. 

The wonderful Gordon Street Coffee Shop was open for business at Glasgow Central and I had a nice cappuccino and a vegan blueberry croissant to set me up for the day. Then it was off to the bus station to catch a bus to Dumfries, where I'd left the car. What a difference between Gloucester Green yesterday and Buchanan Street today! In contrast to the rudeness I encountered in Oxford, the staff here were kind and approachable, not just to me but in other instances I saw while I was there. They were working on a Bank Holiday but they still went the extra mile. People Make Glasgow :-)

I arrived home to find D moving the last of the hay in the garden. We sat on the bench for a bit and enjoyed the sunshine. Good to be home.

The photo shows a sculpture at the bus station by John Clinch called "Wincher's Stance" (winch being a kiss in Scots).

*singing along with Art and Paul

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.