Contrasts

A contrast of images.

After breakfast I headed to the saltmarsh section of the RSPB Leighton Moss reserve. It was gloomy, drizzly weather, so I was pleased with this image of a greenshank, seemingly admiring its reflection in the water.

J was feeling a bit gloomy, the weather wasn’t exactly helping. So I suggested an ideal antidote - a trip south to our nearest nuclear power station. It’s a direction we haven’t taken since we have been here. Amazingly, on the way the weather changed. The clouds parted, the sun shone, and we had some great views across Morecambe Bay to the north shore and the Lakeland hills from Morecambe (extras).

Morecambe was my first experience of the north of England, I’ve not really been back to the town since apart from once driving through. The only time I ever met a grandparent - my grandad operated a kiddies train in a local park. And seeing the black and white minstrel show, which seemed an innocent thing in the 1960’s when I was a child. It’s a very different perspective in 2021.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.