Shadows in time

By cairistiona

Everyday clothes

I've been in Sheffield this weekend looking into bits and pieces of family history. This afternoon I visited a relative and discovered this amazing photo in his album.

This is my great great grandfather James Gillot Harrop, a labourer who lived in Sheffield, 1853-1931. I feel like I know him, because my grandma spoke about him often (he was her grandad), we have quite a few other pictures of him and also he looks a bit like one of my uncles.

The other pictures we have of James however, were all taken in studios or at weddings. What is unusual about this photo is - he's wearing his everyday/ work clothes! (I wonder who took the photo and why.)

On seeing it, my first idiotic thought was 'Wow, it looks like he's doing a Victorian reenactment.' The background looks very authentic too...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.