pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Abandonment success

A text from my mother first thing informed me that they were heading off to a boot sale and asked me if I wanted to go?

I did not, but the wee ones did, so they ran off up the road - m’boy clutching his car seat - to the parent’s holiday house. Bonus child-free time at short notice? What to do with it? Definitely time to get hot and sweaty. So I put some clothes on and went for a run. Such has my exercise regimen evolved over the past two years, that I referred to it after as “just a 10k”. The short hand phrase for this kind of attitude is “Strava W*nker”.

Anyway, I felt good on the run and had some idea about two sides of the same shot, hence today’s offering. A closer inspection of the sweatier side of this image will reveal bug squash on my glistening forehead.

To ground myself once more, I had chocolate cake for lunch and then abandoned my children again as they went into town with their grandparents to mug them for more treats, whilst I changed my bed and put out some fresh PJs. I don’t care what anyone says, but fresh bedding and PJs day is always something to be enjoyed.

In an experiment to test the limits of The Eldest’s babysitting capabilities, I abandoned my children for the third time in the same day and timed a lovely walk to perfection; missing West Ham’s last minute shenanigans just as the sun came out. I returned home to three screen zombies who’d barely noticed I’d left. The Eldest may soon be generating herself an additional income stream!

Our lovely day and weekend was rounded out by a nice dinner cooked by Nanny. The children barely hid their disappointment that she hadn’t cremated the garlic bread this time out.

Bring it on Monday, I ‘ain’t scared of you.

P.S. Thanks for the kind words and response to yesterday’s entry, you wonderful lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.