The second half of life..

By twigs

I see you.......

After my back appointment (which was good, though evidently there's not much more to be done manually......just needs time to settle) I headed to my happy spot at the Boulder Bank Ponds.  I went thinking I'd 'chase' some swallows, added Kingfishers to my list when I saw the tide was high then erased both in favour of the pack (?) of Godwits who I spied gathered in the shallows!  Pays not to be too organised for these outings haha!  Met a very interesting man who turned out to be a local fresh water scientist whose passion is estuarine and mud-flat birds.  He'd been along the Boulder Bank looking for the Godwits with bands to log how many banded birds were around.  I'm sure we could have talked a lot longer but as the tide was going out quickly I wanted to get to the Godwits.

After the Godwits I headed to the swallows but again, there were precious few around.  Also again, the lady dog-walker was finishing her walk with her 6 charges, this one of whom thought it fun to leap into the long grasses and try to spy on me.  At least he didn't leap into the water this time though!

A bit of gardening in the afternoon, a visit to a local campervan company to see what advice they could give about adding a 'boot' space for storage then dropped in to see M & J on the way home.  

As Auckland heads out of Level 4 tonight I can't help but feel thankful for the relative freedoms we have had.  Enjoy your new-found freedoms Auckland but above all, stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.