Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Chiffchaff

It's been a long time since I posted a chiffchaff as to me, they are spring birds that sing all season and then mostly disappear back to Africa round about now. I've not seen many at all for the past couple of months. 
This morning I went alone to Pennington Flash for a couple of hours as hubby was quick to take up my offer of going on my own as soon as the words were out of my mouth! 
It was not that good to be honest as 4 out of 7 hides had work going on, cutting back vegetation that had got badly overgrown during covid times, and the main woodland birds hide was totally void of birds save one dunnock. There looked to have been no feeding for quite a few days and the only sign of life was three brown rats - maybe they are trying to stop the rats by not putting so much food out??? 

Anyway, I had a quick flash of the kingfisher rump, saw a few ducks, including some wigeon that were too far away for a decent shot, and this little chiffchaff. 
This afternoon we will be visiting my parents as we've not seen them for a couple of weeks and we are off to Northumberland tomorrow for a week.  I'll finish the packing later this evening when hubby is playing games and do a couple of jobs in the garden. 

Catch you all later

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.