Adam's Images

By ajt

Torx

Funny one this. After work I went to my mother-in-law's to walk the dog and was told that the bedside cabinet was locked and the key was missing. My wife had tried all the unused furniture keys and it wasn't one them, so was assuming it was missing.

I took the drawer out and took this picture to see what it was going on. As you can see the lock is held in place with two star shaped torx screws. With a bit of a faff I unscrewed the lock, and opened the cabinet. Now I could see the inside of the mechanism I could see that the key my wife was trying wasn't going to work, but a nearly identical one in another cupboard was fine. Basically they are the same mechanisms, but the manufacturing tolerances were such that one key would open both locks, but the other key would only one one of the locks... I swapped the keys around and now both open and panic sorted.

I then took the dog for his walk - he isn't convinced with all this DIY and seems to think my key role is to take him to the Hippodrome to look for rabbit!

Back blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.