It's all Greek to me...

It's back to school (on Zoom) from this week, with this term's Modern Greek language evening class... and having taken rather a long break since mid-July, without doing enough practice, I was feeling decidedly rusty. So much so that I really had to screw up my courage to log on. I wasn't doing too badly by last July, but I knew I had lost ground since then and dreaded freezing up on screen in total confusion.

When I was young I learned languages easily; the new structures and the words just stuck, it was like putting together  a wonderfully engrossing and rewarding puzzle (unlike trying to learn maths and statistics, which was always like wading through treacle).  The older brain isn't finding it so easy.

It's been OK tonight though. There were certainly some stretches where I had no idea at all what was going on, but as the 90 minutes wore on, shapes began to form in the verbal fog. Our tutor is a methodical and perceptive soul and adapted to what was needed for each of us.  I emerged with renewed impetus to work harder at it this autumn, and to chat to Marianna about doing some regular conversation practice together between classes. Just got to keep to those resolutions now :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.