Blippish Columbia

By OllieG90

Snow Business

Kelsall has the most snow I have seen in a long long while. In fact, I don't remember snow like this since before I started high school, at least not around my part of the world. Taking full advantage of this I donned my walking boots, grabbed the lead and headed into the forest to give Toby his daily walk. I had a crazy idea of taking the bike out, cycling in the snow is awesome fun, but my shoulder is still sore and I didn't fancy the inevitable bail onto it. Plus if I was cycling, how would I have taken pictures!

We did our usual walk up to the stones on the Old Pale, one of the highest points on the Sandstone Trail where the wind was icy, even creating some rime on the benches! Toby knows the forest like the back of his hand paw so we were soon delving through undergrowth as he ran the trails we usually reserve for cycling. The snow under the trees was super deep, occasionally knee height!

Awesome way to spend the morning with just me and the dog. Spent the afternoon out to Lunch with Camilla, Mum, Duncan and the Kids before a skype sesh with Katie.

My only gripe about taking photo's with Toby is him not understanding the very important need for him to go and stand in front of various things I am taking pictures of in order to add something to the shot. I mean, what is that guys deal?! Does he not understand that my need for him to sit still in front of trees/doors/empty spaces completely overrides his need to chase his own tail? I tell you, I think I need a new muse!

Or maybe not, he is pretty stunning and he did stand very still for this shot.

Pretty good first full day back! Apologies for blipping Toby twice in two days, but this is my favourite shot from the walk. Go Large to see the snowflakes. The rest can be found on flickr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.