Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Nature's beauty.

The end grain on the arms, and some of the upper grain of our garden rockers, has developed this pretty fungi or possibly lichen. I’m not sure which. They will be jet washed and oiled prior to winter but this really caught my eye this morning. 

The boy was able to hobble a few paces without his crutches last night; this morning he is in a blue mood, missing his pals and school. 

There’s a website called “Once a Marine, Always a Marine.” A long time ago somebody asked the question, “What’s the word for a collection of Marines?” There were some cracking replies but mine always sticks in my mind. I suggested a “Kinnell,” of Marines. 

Simple reason, every time we walked into a pub you would hear a mumbled, “Kinnell, Marines.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.