Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A colourless day

I thought I was escaping the awful weather in England but it is no better here in the Swiss Alps. A miserable, colourless day with low cloud, white skies and snow falling. Usually this area is so beautiful with blue skies and white snow, but today it is pretty awful, the snow is melting in the village and rather patchy and everything underneath is brown and ugly. Not the scenario one wants when on holiday.

We tried to ski this morning but the visibility was so awful we went back to the apartment and I spent the morning reading my book (pure holiday indulgence and utter bliss) and then researching universities on line with my eldest son to choose which ones he needs to visit this summer in preparation for his applications in the autumn. It was rather exciting and I almost wish I was in his shoes! Oh to be young and have your whole life ahead of you again...but I distinctly remember when I was at that stage of my life how I could not wait to be older.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.