Shit hole

Apologies if you find this offensive - it's not intended it be. It's a nature photograph.

This morning in the back garden there were three holes in the soil, two untidy (extra) and one, the most interesting, 10cm across and 15cm deep half-filled with shit. What animal does this?

Also overnight, the soil-filled chimney pot outside the front door that contained the egg has been dug up again. Some creature coming to retrieve its winter stash? I suspect I live among foxes.

After I'd been bemused by my morning's garden I took myself off to work. My goodness it's a challenge being back!

When I worked there before I introduced one new service, one major new piece of software, several new systems and quite a lot of other changes. It's hugely gratifying to see those completely embedded and taken for granted now. It's also exciting to see how other people have built on what I did and taken things further. That means I have quite a bit to learn (though I can already see some scope for improvements). 

From the vantage point of 2½ years out of the workplace I can also see some of the failings in the way I work, especially putting in more hours than I am contracted to do in order to achieve enough to appear super-competent. I watch myself promising that it will last only until I have settled back in but under the surface I hear a lifetime's rationalisations about why I'm working more than I should.

Probably I need a therapist but, hey, it's not many more weeks of personal dysfunction/organisational superpowers then I can retire all over again. 

Now I must go to bed so I can get up early to do the work (from home) that I didn't manage to do at the office today. (Probably I am beyond the help of therapy.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.