CalicoCat

By CalicoCat

A piece of history

This framed doily belonged to my mother for many years and I never knew the story behind it, who made it or why it was framed and put on display.   Until I turned it over and saw that Mom had written a note and taped it on the back.   Thank you Mom!

This doily was made by my Mother's great-grandmother (my great, great grandmother) around 1870.   As far as I know, she was born in Canada and  the man she married had been born in England and immigrated to Canada about 1860.   They had three children, one of whom became my great-grandmother.    I knew my great-grandmother very well and still have a couple books and a few other things that she had given to me when I was young. 
   
My Mother had done a lot of work on our family history and I now have her notes and the information she collected.   I've also done some work on our history but there is still a lot more to do.          

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.