Changes

For some reason I found myself today longing for a visit to Carkeek Park.  I drove down there and parked at the upper level gardens which I've blipped many times.  The changing season brought about many scenes like this photo, of the last of Summer hanging on while Autumn changes colors and textures and drains the life out of so many plants.

What's changed is how difficult it was for me to make my way around and through the gardens with my new lightweight walker.  The paths are rough earth, with bumps of grass and gravel making it difficult to move through.  With my old walker, I felt much more secure.  But now I think this will be the last time I visit these gardens.  Maneuvering my way through left me exhausted and aching.  In future I'll have to stick to the paved lower walkway that skirts a meadow but provides no up-close contact with plants and trees.  Not that long ago I was able to walk even the forest path without assistance.  It feels like a terrible loss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.