Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Windows, Wortley Hall

The Stable Block and outhouse windows.  In fact the windows on the stable block have been filled in at some point in the past and the only window that exists is in the outhouse.  So what we see through the broken panes are assorted pieces of wood and other discarded items.

It's probably too soon for me to make final choices.  I've spent some time editing in Lightroom and adjusting tonal depth and clarity.  These were taken with my OM5 Mk2 as I was walking and didn't want to carry the heavy Canon Lens.  In terms of in-camera multiple exposure (ME), the Olympus camera will only take 2 frames at a time using an average mode to combine the images.  But, you can pick up a previous combined images to create a triple, and so on, except I probably stopped at 3, otherwise it gets very complicated.

The last time I was in this spot I used my Canon camera, which has more blend modes, but I think today I've applied more creative thinking to it to come up with these images.  I guess the problem I've wrestled with is that maybe there is too much going on and it's confusing.  This was brought home to me today as I was looking at The RPS Creative Eye magazine, which features a couple of articles where ME has been used (and I wasn't terribly impressed, even though the authors have been awarded their FRPS  - the highest level of award).

My original intention was to go back to Wentworth Castle this morning, but my car wouldn't start.  I've been having problems with the courtesy light - seeming to come on of it's own accord.  We took the bulb out of one side a few weeks ago because it wouldn't turn off.  Unfortunately there wasn't anyone around to see that it was on again last night.  Merv and Mike came to my rescue (and poor Merv started his day at 5.30am with a trip to Thirsk).  My car is now on-charge at Mike's, so hopefully all will be well by morning.  Thank goodness I have such amazing neighbours.

p.s. I think this has been my longest walk yet (probably 4-5 to 5 miles) and my ankle was getting a bit achy by the time I was coming back down the hill.  I'm fine on even ground, but it gets more stressed on uneven surfaces. I thought I'd need to take more Ibuprofen when I got home, but I've been fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.