Beinghere

By Beinghere

Cape Marguerites

Not in my garden, I’m afraid, but in a small garden beside St Monans Windmill.
The Extra is Geordie playing in the wee park beside the house with a dog he met there. He walks home off the lead from this park because it’s so close.

We walked along to St Monans this afternoon in beautiful sunshine. There were lots of people out walking and I’m not used to it because we take our selves to quiet places for our walks usually.
When we got home I set about giving the bench it’s third and last coat of paint. Thank goodness. I just need to paint all the metal on the bench now.

After that I checked my emails to discover that, like so many other people, my power company has gone bust. Now I need to wait to see what power company I will be given by the government. With this huge increase in the price of gas it was inevitable that the smaller companies wouldn’t stay afloat. I took the precaution of photographing my meter readings today, just so it’s clear where I stand at this point.

Some petrol stations have closed temporarily because they can’t get petrol delivered to them due to the severe shortage of lorry drivers.
And supermarket shelves are increasingly empty as they can’t get deliveries for the same reason.
In some areas of the country bins are not being emptied because some drivers of the recycle lorries have left to become lorry drivers.
Many of the fruit farms around here have had a really difficult summer. They used to have large numbers of Eastern European workers for the summer season, but, again due to Brexit, these workers couldn’t come here.
Materials for building work are in short supply causing long delays in house building and maintenance.
The hospitality industry is having a real struggle, and many establishments have been forced to close, again because they are accustomed to workers from Eastern Europe who can no longer come here, and British people are reluctant to work for the same wages.
It’s impossible to list the adverse effects that Brexit has had. Just as it is impossible not to be angry and disappointed that this is where our country has ended up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.