Flower Friday

Ive finally caught up with my Blips. Photos taken every day, then not got posted. 

A long walk today. We went up and along the 'red river' which isnt actually a river.. it's a beck (stream) which has been there for centuries. It flows through Furness Abbey ruins and that was built in the 12th century.
 It cuts through the fields and is a few metres deeper than the surrounding land. I've been there when there was so much water it has overflowed but today it was so shallow, in places there was just the red earth. It s red because the area is rich in iron ore.

Last time we walked there was the week  before the first lockdown. We stopped going as it's a narrow path in places and we were avoiding people.  
Today we had the place to ourselves on the way out. 

I was on the look out for flowers. Not many today. I did see quite a few of the invader Balsom plant  ( is that how its spelt?) . I've seen it take over in other areas. I hope it doesnt along here

We walked back along Bridgegate so an extra long walk today. Fletch was still trotting along as we reached our street.. more than I was! 

Did some shopping in the Coop today, rather than Tesco. I couldnt face seeing all the panic buyers . Queues for fuel.. etc. Its quite depressing how people react , even though we were told there was no shortages. This may mean our planned holiday near Sherwood will be cancelled. 
Treated ourselves to Cinnamon Danish pastries. Some days you just need sugar ( and spice and all things nice) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.