A day in the life

By Shelling

Workplace

A year ago I made a tour though all the old peoples homes in Kalmar, 17 of them. That was fun and I've hoped the pandemic would allow me to start doing concerts, or rather entertainments there again. One of those homes rang me and asked if I wanted to come for 45 minutes of playing for the people there and of course I said yes to that. The events are still outdoors, but on the 29th of september all restrictions are lifted and it will be possible to do these concerts indoors again. Theatres, concert halls, galleries and so on will be allowed to have as large audiences as the hall permits, with an open eye to the risks of course. The virus is still active but are not spreading as a pandemic, because of vaccinations.

Today I was outside the building but the gorgeous sunny, rather still day made it a perfect place to be doing the performance. I enjoyed myself and the elders was happy to hear some music and to have their routines altered a little. If you wonder about the note-stand I must confess I'm not good at learning lyrics by heart and I wanted to test some songs I haven't done before. It's also a very long time since I did this kind of job before and I didn't want to spoil the experience by singing and playing rubbish.

It felt a bit weird to ask if I could use their bathroom, they still have very strict rules and no unauthorised person is allowed into the house. After a long while I was reluctantly allowed into the house as far away from the elders as possible. In four days all restrictions are lifted but rule obeying Swedish institutions don't have a soft transition between systems, it all has to happen at midnight on the actual day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.